Adventures in Interactive Fiction

Success is North of Failure

OT: Newsreader suggestions?

I am looking for a good share- or freeware newsreader to replace Outlook Express.  I have tried a few different ones but they’re either too clunky, too cluttered or simply no better than Outlook.  Here are a few I have tried, with notes about what I didn’t like:

  • Newz Crawler – Just too busy, and god help me if I can figure out how to get it to download more than the last 7 days’ worth of messages.  It does look nice though.
  • Outlook Express – My main beef?  The fact that I can’t get it to use top-down (bottom-posting) formatting for my replies.  If anyone can tell me how to fix that, I guess the search can be called off.
  • MAPILab NNTP Plugin in for Outlook 2003 – Nice because it integrates into Outlook, annoying because every time I leave the view, it reverts the placeholder to the very bottom of the list, forcing me to scroll all the way up to read new messages.  And I *want* my new messages at the top, dammit!

Any suggestions?  I just want a nice, easy, no-frills reader that makes reading and posting to the newsgroups comfortable and intuitive.  (I’m using Windows XP)

May 19, 2008 - Posted by | Uncategorized | , ,

4 Comments »

  1. For what it’s worth I do all my surfing, emailing, and news-grouping with Seamonkey (http://www.seamonkey-project.org/), an integrated application suite based on the Mozilla codebase. You could get the same functionality without the integrated web-browser by using Thunderbird (http://www.mozilla.com/en-US/thunderbird/). I find that it does everything I care about as far as Usenet while also being vastly superior to Outlook Express for email. It will certainly allow you to sort your messages any way you like, and to choose whether you want your reply to start above or below the original post when replying.

    Of course, there are undoubtedly many hardcore Usenet features it doesn’t have, but nothing I miss… and I find having my email and Usenet in one place is really nice.

    Comment by Jimmy Maher | May 19, 2008 | Reply

  2. I always use Thunderbird an well.

    Comment by Victor Gijsbers | May 19, 2008 | Reply

  3. Thanks for the suggestion, Jimmy – I actually only used part of it; for whatever reason, Thunderbird simply hadn’t occurred to me. I think it’s mainly because Thunderbird as an email client didn’t quite fit my needs, so I sort of mentally wrote it off altogether. As a news reader, I am happy to say, it’s exactly what I was looking for, and so, I believe we have a winner.

    Comment by Jules | May 19, 2008 | Reply

  4. You might also take a look at Feeddemon, which is free from Newsgator.com — it used to be a paid client, and in fact I paid for it years ago, but it is extremely well done.

    Comment by Michael Fessler | May 20, 2008 | Reply


Leave a Reply

